Senior BJP Leader Phagu Chauhan Designated Governor of Bihar, to Take Over From Lal Ji Tandon

The BJP-led NDA government at the Centre reported the name of senior leader Phagu Chauhan as the Governor of Bihar. Chauhan is a senior government politician from UP.

Born on January 1, 1948, Chauhan has a place with Sheikhpura, Azamgarh. In the seventeenth UP Legislative Assembly election, Chauhan became an MLA subsequent to winning by the most elevated margin of votes. He was elected from Ghosi in 1985 on ticket from the Dalit Kisan Mazdoor Party.

In the coming years he challenged on ticket from the Janta Dal and elected as an MLA in 1991, 1996 and 2002. He later joined the BJP and again became an individual from the Legislative Assembly in 2017.

He will take over from occupant Governor Lal Ji Tandon who has been transferred and designated as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh instead of Anandiben Patel.

Tandon was confirmed as Bihar Governor not exactly a year back, on August 23 after his predecessor Satya Pal Malik was relocated to Jammu and Kashmir.

Broadly known as a political protégé of previous Prime Minister Atal Bihar Vajpayee, Tandon was elected to the fifteenth Lok Sabha from Lucknow seat defeating Congress party candidate Rita Bahuguna Joshi in May 2009.

In a major rejig, the Centre Saturday appointed six new Governors in the states of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Nagaland and Tripura.

Madhya Pradesh Governor and previous Chief Minister of Gujarat Anandiben Patel has been transferred and appointed as the new Governor of UP.

You might also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *